To avoid the spread of a new variant of the COVID-19 virus, Canadian health officials have restricted travel to ten nations. Nigeria, Egypt, and Malawi have recently been added to the list.

Several more nations have been added to the list of those who are currently subject to tighter border controls by the Canadian government.

Nigeria, Egypt, and Malawi are the new additions to the list. Foreign nationals who have visited these nations in the last 14 days are not allowed to enter Canada as of yesterday. They join a group of seven southern African countries that were hit with sanctions just a few days ago.

Before being allowed to travel to Canada, Canadian citizens and permanent residents who have spent the previous 14 days in any of these ten countries will need to carry a negative PCR test. They will be subjected to additional testing and quarantine procedures once they arrive in Canada.

In addition, all air travellers (excluding those from the United States) will be required to undergo testing at the airport where they arrive in Canada, regardless of their Canadian immigration and vaccination status. They’ll have to isolate themselves until a negative test is confirmed. This is on top of the PCR tests they must get within 72 hours of arriving in Canada.

These new regulations apply to all Canadian citizens and permanent residents, including those who have had all of their vaccinations. During a recent press conference, Canadian government ministers stated that they will explore implementing these requirements to travellers entering Canada by air and/or land from the United States.

The tougher restrictions come after a new COVID-19 form, Omicron, was found last week in South Africa, prompting global concern.

The Canadian government announced on November 26, two days after the discovery of the new variant, that foreign nationals who travelled to South Africa, Eswatini, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, and Namibia would not be allowed to enter Canada.

The Omicron strain of the coronavirus is classified as “very high risk” by the World Health Organization, with a considerable chance of worldwide transmission.

It’s unclear how contagious the variant is, how harmful it is, or whether it’s vaccination resistant.

Five cases of the Omicron COVID-19 variant have been confirmed in Canada to date, with several more probable cases being investigated.

– India’s new age travel digital media

Also Read: Japan And Israel Have Imposed Travel Restrictions Due To The Omicron Variant


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here