India and Switzerland have expanded their connections even further by signing an air bubble agreement that allows both countries’ carriers to fly between the two nations.

However, only those who fall under the following categories will be permitted to travel on such flights:

  •  stranded Swiss nationals and residents, internationals travelling through Switzerland bound for the European Union or Schengen Zone, South America, or Africa, or their spouses, whether accompanied or not.
  • Indian nationals, Nepalese or Bhutanese nationals, who are exclusively travelling to EU/Schengen nations, South America, or Africa, and who have obtained a valid visa from the destination country.
  • Airlines shall check that nationals of India, Nepal, and Bhutan are not restricted from entering the destination country before issuing tickets/boarding passes to Indian, Nepalese, and Bhutanese passengers.

At the same time, flights from Switzerland to India will be available for the following categories of passengers:

  • •Indians or Bhutanese or Nepalese nationals stranded in the EU/Schengen area, Africa, or South America
  • Holders of an Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) or a Permanent Resident of India (PIO) card who obtain a passport from any nation.
  • Foreign nationals from the European Union/Schengen Zone, South America, or Africa who obtain a valid Indian visa.

Recently, Indian officials have also signed a deal with Australia to resume commercial passenger services after regular foreign flights were suspended owing to the Coronavirus outbreak.

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), India has recorded over 34,697,800 cases of COVID-19 infection and 475,636 deaths since the pandemic began. The same source shows 56,299 cases of COVID-19 infection have been reported in India in the last seven days, with 2,099 people dying during that time.

At the same time, 1,106,580 cases of COVID019 infection and 11,340 deaths have been reported in Switzerland. Over 38,150 cases of COVID-19 infection and 85 deaths have been reported in the last seven days.

As a result of these statistics, Swiss authorities said that they have tightened entry procedures for 23 EU Member States and third nations in an effort to stop the spread of the COVID-19 and its new variants.

Due to the COVID-19 Omicron variant, since November 30 Swiss authorities had introduced tighter entry requirements for arrivals from Japan, Canada, Nigeria, and Portugal.

– India’s new age travel digital media


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here