UK Bans Travellers From UAE, Fears Of New Strain Of Virus Continue

The UK government has banned travellers from the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Burundi and Rwanda. Authorities have confirmed that the decision was made to prevent the spread of the new variant of the coronavirus. The new variant was originally identified in South Africa. 

British and Irish nationals can return, but will have to self-isolate

Passengers who were in or have been transited through the United Arab Emirates, Burundi and Rwanda in the last ten days will no longer be allowed to the UK. British, Irish, and third-country nationals with residence rights in the UK are exempt from this. They will be allowed into the country and will have to self-isolate for ten days at home along with their entire household. Further, there will also be a flight ban on direct passenger flights from the United Arab Emirates.

British nationals presently in the UAE must make use of available commercial flights if they want to return to their home country. Indirect commercial flights that help British and Irish nationals and residents return to the UK are still in operations. For advice and guidance on travel, British nationals can check Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO).

Also Read: Indian Government Working To Promote Kargil As A Global Tourist Destination


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More Articles Like This

More from the Author