Travellers from the United Kingdom may soon be required to pay a fee to enter many of European nations under a new scheme launching later this year.

According to recent reports, a price would be charged for a new electronic travel permit that has been implemented to increase security and enforce the Schengen zone’s borders. It is anticipated that the new visa waiver will be valid for three years and permit unlimited entries into the EU.

Additionally, travellers from the United Kingdom will be required to submit an online application to receive an ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System). The application should not require more than ten minutes to complete.

It will cost 7 euros or 6.20 pounds to complete, as reported by Birmingham Live. The processing of applications will take up to four days, although the European Union claims it may be completed “within minutes.”

When applying for a visa, you must have your travel document, such as a passport, and payment card on hand. You will receive an email confirmation containing your unique ETIAS application number. After processing, you will receive a second email alerting you of the result.

The EITAS will be accepted in thirty countries. These include:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romani
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here