Visitors from more European Union and Schengen Area countries are subject to quarantine requirements upon arrival in Norway since January 10, 2022.

Travelers from seven districts of Finland, four regions of Sweden, and the archipelagos of Sardinia and the Azores will be subject to quarantine beginning the following Monday, according to a news release issued by the Norwegian Ministry of Health and Care Services on Friday, January 7.

This decision was taken based on COVID-19 rates reported in these locations in the two last weeks of December 2021.

There is now only one country, Romania, which has no requirements for entry quarantine,” the Ministry noted, adding that visitors from the rest of the EU and Schengen area should quarantine upon arrival.

Explaining the restrictions that apply to these countries, which are classified as red, dark red, and grey, the Ministry underlines that the quarantine requirement does not apply to persons who have been ill with COVID-19 in the previous six months. Those who have been vaccinated against COVID-19, as well as those under the age of 18, are exempt.

Travellers who are subject to the isolation requirement can shorten their time in isolation by taking a PCR test three days after arriving in Norway.

Norway will continue to impose travel restrictions from the Schengen Area and other nations in the world in 2022, based on color-coded maps that divide countries and regions into four categories: green, orange, red, and dark red.

For the second week in a row, Romania is the only country in the orange category, despite the fact that no countries have been coloured in green for weeks. Bulgaria, on the other hand, is the only country in the red category. Non-vaccinated and unrecovered Bulgarians, unlike Romanians, must be quarantined upon arrival in Norway.

Andorra, Belgium, Estonia, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Iceland, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, the Vatican City, and Austria are included in the dark red category.

Italy, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, San Marino, Spain, and the Vatican City were previously highlighted in red. They have all be moved to dark red on Monday. Travelers from these countries, on the other hand, will not notice any changes in travel restrictions because Norway imposes the same limitations to visitors from the red and dark red zones.

The majority of Nordic regions are also classified as dark red, with only a few remaining on the red list.

The last time the lists were reviewed was on December 17, when entrance quarantine was implemented for visitors from Sicily, Finland’s Kajanaland and Satakunta regions, and Sweden’s Dalarna, Jämtland, Jönköping, and Södermanland regions.

– India’s new age travel digital media


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here