Countries Close Borders To UK Travellers After Discovery Of Infectious New Strand Of COVID-19

Several nations around the world have closed their borders to all travellers from the UK right after a new strain of COVID-19 was detected in the nation. This new variant is supposedly 70 percent more infectious than existing strains. Countries that have instated travel bans and flight suspensions include Germany, France, Belgium, Turkey and Italy and Hong Kong.  Outbound train services through the Channel Tunnel have stopped. 

Flight suspensions and travel bans for the UK have been put in place

France has also closed its land border with the UK for 48 hours. In Bulgaria, the ban on flights has been put in place till January 31st. Matt Hancock, the health secretary has explained that the new variant has spread quickly in London and south-east England. Health officials have also said that there is no evidence so far of this strain being more deadly or being more unlikely to react differently to vaccines.

Also Read: Thailand Opens Up For International Tourism, Quarantine Mandatory


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More Articles Like This

More from the Author